About Us

From the Director of Catholic Education, Diocese of Wagga Wagga

Catholic Education, Diocese of Wagga Wagga (CEDWW) serves twenty-four primary schools and five secondary colleges and two boarding facilities. Our staff support principals and school staff in their work around maximising student learning, growth and development.

We are guided in our work by the 2024 – 2027 Strategic Direction for Catholic Education Diocese of Wagga Wagga to Nurture and Flourish. 

The theme for our system of schools for 2024 is Sowing Seeds which follows on from our 2023 theme of “Preparing the Good Soil”. We give thanks to all who have prepared the soil in past years and ask for the strength to continue to sow the seeds of the Good News of Jesus Christ.

This year, let our prayer be:

Lord, may we sow the seeds of your Word. 

May we be messengers of your love and peace in our places of work, our communities and our homes.

Sowing Seeds – 2024-27 Strategic Direction for Catholic Education Diocese of Wagga Wagga to Nurture and Flourish
identifies the key priorities that informs CEDWW’s work over the next four years. 

The key priorities emerged from the data collected during 2023 using the Education System Improvement Tool with input from Principals, School Leadership Teams, the Catholic Education Council and Central Office personnel.

In the spirit of synodality, the following  guiding principles will animate our key priorities: 

  • Accompaniment
  • Building from the evidence
  • Learning and reflecting
  • Speaking with hope and 
  • Being Christ-centred

Our key priorities are:

  • Enhancing Formation for Evangelisation
  • Continuous School Improvement
  • Transforming Student Learning
  • Nurturing our Workforce and;
  • Stewarding our resources and the environment

Our Catholic Education Charter reminds us that Catholic schools in the Diocese of Wagga Wagga are Communities of:

  • Welcome
  • Faith
  • Service and;
  • Learning

As a system of schools we work together as we educate the whole child so that they can grow academically, spiritually, physically and emotionally through communities that are focused on welcome, faith, service and learning.

Yours sincerely,

Dr Andrew Watson
Director of Catholic Education, Diocese of Wagga Wagga

About Us

Our Diocese

The Catholic Diocese of Wagga Wagga is located within Wiradjuri country in the Riverina and southwestern district of New South Wales. The Murray and Murrumbidgee Rivers are significant geographical features of the area with the eastern border of the Diocese lying in the mountainous regions of the Great Dividing Range.

Established in 1917, the Diocese of Wagga Wagga has a rich faith tradition; our faith communities are nourished and sustained by the sacramental life of the church administered and accessed through 31 parishes.  The Most Reverend Mark Edwards OMI is our Bishop.

Catholic Education, Diocese of Wagga Wagga comprises 29 schools – 24 primary and 5 secondary. Boarding facilities can be accessed by 3 of our secondary schools.